Princess and the Pea

Elizabeth Ann Corkum as Princess Jerseylee

Well, my first show as an AEA member opened last week. I am currently playing the part of Princess Jerseylee in “The Princess and the Pea” at Storybook Musical Theatre.  It’s a children’s show, so our audiences have been mostly filled with wide-eyed elementary school kids and their teachers. There is nothing more rewarding then the roaring laughter of 400 children in a theater.

This show marks another “first” for me. Besides the Equity card, this is my first real “character” part for me, and I love it! Its amazing being the character with the most laughs every show, and totally embodying a character so different from myself. I am hoping that I’ll continue to have the opportunity to play both ingenue and character parts in the future.

So one week down, three to go. I am really looking forward to the rest of the run, and bringing art to more children’s lives.

~ by Elizabeth on May 7, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
