Teaching a Westminster Seminar

A couple of months ago I wrote a blog with advice and inside tips for people interested in becoming an actor or model. I was prompted to write the blog due to month after month of receiving emails requesting advice. Most of the questions came from Westminster’s current students and alumni (I graduated from WCC in 2006 with a degree in Musical Theatre).

Though I tried to respond to each individual message, I got to the point to where I didn’t have the time to meet everyone’s needs. Furthermore, I became slightly worn out by giving out my hard learned advice for free. I don’t mind helping people at all, but I began to feel like people would rather pick my brain instead of using the internet and the amazing websites out there that have a plethora of information.

I thought a lot about what to do with this problem, as I didn’t want to ignore the questions but didn’t have the time or energy to live on my laptop late at night either. I approached the Musical Theatre Staff at Westminster with my situation, and recommended the students have a seminar or workshop with someone young and currently in the industry that could answer questions. It was clear this was lacking from their education, and that it was a much needed resource. I know that when I was at WCC, I never had that kind of opportunity, and everything I know now I figured out on my own – probably wasting weeks of time and experiencing hours of tears and frustration.

The Westminster Staff agreed with my idea, and asked me if I would be interested in teaching the seminar. I said I would be happy to share what I know and give whatever advice is needed. The seminar will be held at the WCC campus on Monday, February 15, 2010. It will be open to the current WCC students and alumni. Depending on the interest and need, seminars may be offered regularly and open to the public – we shall see.

~ by Elizabeth on February 5, 2010.

One Response to “Teaching a Westminster Seminar”

  1. Congratulations! You’re the perfect person to offer this advice.

Leave a Reply

 
