Theatre Travel and Teaching College

This past weekend I packed up my car and headed out of NYC and toward Pittsburgh for an audition. Thankfully the massive amount of snow that had been dumped on the Northeast had been cleared off of the major roadways.

The audition was for Pitt CLO – one of the largest and most prestigous musical theatre houses in Pittsburgh. They had quite a line up of shows, and I wanted to throw my hat in the ring. The really nice thing about this audition was that I was given an audition date and time, which was a much appreciated change from the cattle call routine.

While not in the audition room, I had some time to enjoy Pittsburgh with some friends. It had been two years since I had been out there, so bar hopping and wandering the streets with special people was a fantastic change of pace for me.

On my return back to the Big Apple, I stopped in Princeton, NJ to teach a seminar at my alma mater – Westminster Choir College. I was actually really nervous to speak in front of fifty students for an hour, which is surprising since I have no problems with nerves at auditions, on camera or on stage!

Anyway, I was brought in educate the students on what to do after college, the different unions and rules, strategies for success, and my two cents based on my experiences. An hour was nowhere near enough time to teach them everything, but I hope it helped. I am crossing my fingers that I will get another chance to meet with the students and give them as much insight as I can to help them.

~ by Elizabeth on February 18, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
