Blue Bloods

Since September 9, 2010, I have been working on the new hit CBS show “Blue Bloods.” I am standing in for Jennifer Esposito, who plays Donnie Wahlberg’s partner from Episode 105 and on.

What is so amazing about this new show is that it is a true ensemble cast – Tom Selleck, Bridget Moynahan, Will Estes, Len Cariou, Donnie Wahlberg and Jennifer Esposito round out a strong ensemble. “Blue Bloods” airs on CBS on Friday nights at 10pm.

While I have worked as a stand-in (SI) many times before, I have never had the role of SI for a principal – which requires me to be on set everyday. It’s quite bazaar to go to the same set everyday, since I have grown accustomed to jumping around. It’s nice to know the crew, and for them to know me – and to have a consistent schedule.

There have certainly been challenges regarding being a full-time SI. For example, trying to get to auditions has been a bit of a challenge and has taken some major planning ahead on my part. Thankfully casting and the crew have been flexible with me so far. My training schedule for the marathon has also suffered a bit, and I am trying to find a better way to manage time so that those goals don’t suffer either.

I do feel very fortunate to currently be one of the few actors with a stable job – if there’s ever such a thing. I am probably the closest I’ll ever be to having a “real” job, which amuses me a bit.

Anyway, do yourself a favor and tune into one of the few good new shows out there – and don’t waste your time on the junk. “Blue Bloods” has a heart and a spirit behind it, that only comes from a show where the actors, writers, and crew are working on something far greater than themselves and their egos.

~ by Elizabeth on September 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
