Marathon Training 2011, Week 1

On July 11, 2011 I eagerly jumped head-first into my second year ever of marathon training. Don’t be a fool, I had run 3 marathons, 2 halves, and a ton of other races (mostly finishing in the top ten for my age group), since I started training last year.

I hit the pavement with determination, and an even more lofty goal than last year: a sub – 3:20 marathon in Philly on November 20th, 2011.  To put that into perspective for the “real” world, that’s around a 7:30 pace, for 26.2 miles. No, that’s not easy. But I am a fighter.

My first week, I completed 45 miles. I felt strong, and my cardio system felt ahead of the game. The only problem was my nagging left leg, which had been a small problem for the past three weeks. The pain began in early June, while I was forced to wear vintage shoes on the sets of both “Men in Black:III,” and “Boardwalk Empire” for very long hours the same week. My calf started feeling tight, and pain started to spread throughout the leg. However, it wasn’t so bad that I couldn’t run through it. I managed my first long run (12 miles) in 7:45s), and with nothing but a dull pain.

As a marathoner and experienced runner, I have learned to build a strong tolerance to pain, and to run through it – as most marathoners do. I had no idea what horrific pain week 2 would bring.

~ by Elizabeth on July 22, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
