Runner’s World Magazine Cover Shoot – What Almost Was

As a model and serious runner, appearing on the cover of Runner’s World Magazine was added to my “bucket list” a few years ago. It’s the only magazine I read. You can imagine my excitement when one of my managers informed me that Runner’s World was considering me for May 2012 cover! I was stoked.

Within the next week I sent them the following: photos of specific body parts and angles, recent running photos, a written q&a about my training and credentials, a recent “snap shot,” and videos of me running in specific angles. Yes, it’s a lot. However, I was determined to match every requirement.

When I got the call that Runner’s World wanted to shoot me for the cover in LA, I was over the moon. If you’ve ever shot for a cover of a major magazine, you know that it is common practice to hire two models to shoot the same cover – obviously only one gets it. This is done for a number of reasons. For one thing, you never know what the editing process will be, or what “look” will end up best suiting that specific issue. What if a model never shows up to the shoot? Or doesn’t know what she is doing? Or is impossible to work with? As you can see, its in the magazine’s best interest to double-book so that they are guaranteed a shot for the cover.

As I drove that morning to the shoot location in the Malibu Palisades (one of THE most gorgeous places I have ever been!), I talked my nerves down, and told myself that the cover was mine to lose. I also decided that I would be myself, and be friendly with the other model. Acting any other way would have felt unnatural to me, and frankly wasn’t going to change the outcome.

The crew was AMAZING. I have nothing but amazing things to say about the entire day. Everyone from the photographer and editor to the producer to the makeup and wardrobe departments were fantastic. I feel incredibly lucky to have had the experience working with such wonderful people. The coolest part was that almost every single member of the shoot crew was female!

The shoot lasted all day, about 10 hours. Each of us models wore about 5 complete outfits each. We mostly shot action shots, which required us to run through the shot and fit a mark while the camera caught the shot. This takes good communication and focus for the entire team. As the runner/model, this required me to constantly run, with a form that photographed best, landing on a mark, with a variation of smiles, eye and head placement.

After the shoot, I left LA and went home to NYC. I thought about the “what ifs” a lot, but figured I’d just wait and see how everything played out. Unfortunately, the other girl was chosen for the cover. The really hard part was that nobody told me ahead of time (not the magazine or my manager), so I found out when my Runner’s World showed up in the mail – and it wasn’t me. The twist of the knife was that this happened around 1am, after getting home from  very long day on a commercial set down in Atlantic City, and I had only a few hours to sleep before going to a tv set. My mental state was anything but solid for this slap in the face.

So there you have it, another day in the life of a model. The highs and lows are constant. I don’t know if I’ll ever see any of the images from that shoot, or if I’ll be contacted to shoot for Runner’s World Magazine again in the future. I am hoping that both happen.

~ by Elizabeth on April 10, 2012.

2 Responses to “Runner’s World Magazine Cover Shoot – What Almost Was”

  1. You’re an inspiration, Elizabeth! I’m so proud that you got that high!

  2. You are such an amazing and inspirational woman! I have no doubt in my mind that you will get to be on the cover of “Runners’ World” in the near future! You prove to the world that hard work and determination pay off, and I have a great amount of respect and admiration for you. Keep on being amazing! Rock on, girl!!!

Leave a Reply

 
