Double Race Weekend

This past weekend I ran two races – the Healthy Kidney 10K on Saturday, and the Japan Day 4 Miler on Sunday. Both races took place in Central Park, with fantastic (and warm) weather. Neither race is really worth writing home about, since I was planning on taking it easy and saving my legs for the upcoming Brooklyn Half Marathon.

I FINALLY joined a team, City Coach Multisport, and in doing so have felt embraced by the NYC running community these last few weeks. It’s funny what training and hanging out with other crazy runners can do to you – especially runners who are equal or better than your ability. Anyway, since I would like to PR this coming weekend at the Brooklyn Half Marathon, Coach Cane and I decided I should hold back and simply run the races for my NYRR credits.

I held back my racing instincts, and took it easy on Saturday by running 7:13s. Don’t be fooled, when the Harlem Hills are part of a race course, even 7:13s can feel like work. On Sunday I decided to let my legs go, and beat my time in last year’s Japan Day race – though still taking it easy and holding back a bit. I clocked 6:48s, good enough for 23rd place out of the women, and 6th in my age group. The competitor in me wonders what would have happened had I rested on Saturday and truly raced on Sunday. We’ll never know. 🙂

I debuted my CCMS singlet at both races this past weekend, which was really nice. A few of my team mates were out there. As the Brooklyn Half looms near, I am excited to take to the starting line with my new team mates and running family.

~ by Elizabeth on May 15, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
